HCAC announces Fall Sportsmanship Team honorees

HCAC Fall 2019 Sportsmanship Team graphic

CARMEL, Ind. – The Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference (HCAC) announced the Christopher M. Ragsdale Sportsmanship teams for the Fall 2019 season.

This is the 10-year anniversary of the HCAC All-Sportsmanship Award, named in honor of former HCAC Commissioner, Christopher M. Ragsdale who served as the Commissioner from 2009 to 2018. In its inaugural season, the All-Sportsmanship team was recognized following each sports season, and the league has returned to this practice of honoring athletes outside of the conference championship season to elevate the focus placed on these deserving individuals.

The sportsmanship award was developed as part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative in 2009. Members of the All-HCAC Sportsmanship team are selected by the coaches and their teammates as individuals who demonstrate the ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field/court of competition. Nominees must have demonstrated consistently the values of respect, and integrity in his or her daily participation in intercollegiate athletics.

Honorees for Earlham College are:

Women's Golf – Daniela Joseph (So., Shelbyville, Indiana)
Women's Tennis – Gloria Aligbe (Fr., Goodlettsville, Tennessee)
Women's Cross Country – Maya Claggett (R-Fr., Annapolis, Maryland)
Men's Cross Country – Austin Burt (So., Warrensburg, Missouri)
Women's Soccer – Erin Welsh (Jr., Sellersburg, Indiana)
Men's Soccer – Jacob Pierson (So., Cleves, Ohio)
Volleyball – Sydney Ameluxen (Sr., Wichita Falls, Texas)

For more information about Earlham athletics, visit the online home of Earlham College athletics at www.GoEarlham.com. Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest Earlham athletics news by following Earlham Quakers on Facebook (Earlham Quakers Athletics), Twitter (@EarlhamQuakers), and Instagram (EarlhamQuakers).