Football recognizes excellence among its own at end-of-year awards night

Earlham College football 2017 team awards graphic

RICHMOND, Ind. – Earlham College football recognized the outstanding performances and individual achievements from the 2017 season during the team's awards night on Sunday, Jan. 21, 2018 in the Friends Meeting Room in Runyan Hall.

Six players were recognized with All-Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference awards. Offensive linemen Jacob Breen and Rod Matthews, wide receiver Marcaus Cooper, and quarterback Wes Hundley were all Second Team All-HCAC honorees during the 2017 season, while punter Jordan Christian and linebacker Kobe Walker were Honorable Mention All-HCAC selections.

In addition, Eric Bryant received the HCAC's Sportsmanship Award.

Earlham Football also announced its team awards during Sunday evening's event.

First year Dominic Saidu was the recipient of the Wendell Stanley Award, which goes to the member of the team with the highest individual GPA during the season. Saidu posted a 3.85 GPA during the Fall 2017 semester.

First year Jamel Barnes was named the Quakers' Newcomer of the Year, after a season in which he had 25 receptions for 280 yards, averaging 11.2 yards per reception, and hauling in four receptions for touchdowns.

Senior Jacob Breen earned the team's Offensive Lineman of the Year Award while senior Dakota Fields was named the Defensive Lineman of the Year. Sophomore Kobe Walker was the Defensive Perimeter Player of the Year award recipient, and sophomore Jordan Christian was the Special Teams Player of the Year.

Senior Eric Bryant was presented the Captains Cup award, and sophomore Dan O'Donnell received the Most Improved Player Award. Bryant finished his senior campaign with 36 total tackles with one tackle-for-loss, as well as one pass breakup, while O'Donnell was second on the team with 58 total tackles, 41 of which were solo stops, with one fumble forced and one fumble recovery.

Senior Wes Hundley was named Earlham Football's Player of the Year. Hundley completed 186 of his 374 attempts for 1489 yards with 18 touchdown passes, and carried 234 times for 991 yards. He rushed for seven TDs

Senior Rod Matthews received the team's most prestigious post-season honor, the Shane Smith Award, which is presented to the individual who exemplifies hard work, teamwork, and overcoming adversity in competing for Earlham Football.

For more information about Earlham football, visit the online home of Earlham College athletics at Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest Earlham athletics news by following Earlham Quakers on Facebook (Earlham Quakers Athletics), Twitter (@EarlhamQuakers), and Instagram (EarlhamQuakers).

Defiance Defeats Football 34-14
September 30, 2017 Defiance Defeats Football 34-14